Washington County farmer will represent young producers on Farm Bureau board

Washington County cattle producer Mindy McCroskey of Bristol was elected Dec. 1 to a two-year term as chairman of the Virginia Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers Committee.

Elections of officers and directors were held at the VFBF 2016 Annual Convention in Hot Springs. The VFBF Young Farmers Committee chairman also serves on the organization’s board of directors.

McCroskey is an agricultural educator and FFA advisor at Abingdon High School. She grew up on her family’s beef cattle farm and began showing cattle at age 9. She owns a herd of register Simmental cattle and remains involved in her family’s farm.

She chairs the Washington County Farm Bureau Young Farmers Committee and also serves on the county Farm Bureau’s budget, scholarship and membership promotions committees.

McCroskey was the 2015 VFBF Young Farmers Excellence in Agriculture Award winner and a 2016 runner-up for the American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers & Ranchers Excellence in Agriculture Award.
The VFBF Young Farmers Program offers opportunities to support agriculture while building leadership and public speaking skills and becoming involved in the legislative process.

With 126,000 members in 88 county Farm Bureaus, VFBF is Virginia’s largest farmers’ advocacy group. Farm Bureau is a non-governmental, nonpartisan, voluntary organization committed to supporting Virginia’s agriculture industry and preserving the Virginia way of life. View more convention news as it becomes available at VaFarmBureau.org/NewsVideo/ConventionNewsroom.aspx.

Contact Greg Hicks, VFBF vice president of communications, at 804-290-1139.

Support Virginia Agriculture

Join Now

Related Articles

Get Recognized

If your publication or radio or television station is delivering stellar coverage of agriculture on an ongoing basis, this is the award competition to enter. Learn More