Virginia farmers will help shape national Farm Bureau policies at annual convention

Specify Alternate Text
NEW ORLEANS—Seven delegates and two alternates from Virginia Farm Bureau Federation will join Farm Bureau producer members from across the nation in shaping policies important to farmers and ranchers at the 2019 American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Convention.

The event, which will be AFBF’s 100th consecutive annual convention, will be held Jan. 11-16 in New Orleans.

Delegates from Virginia are VFBF President Wayne F. Pryor of Goochland County, VFBF Vice President Scott Sink of Franklin County, Lynwood Broaddus of Caroline County, Coley Drinkwater of Dinwiddie County, W.P. Johnson of Bedford County, C.W. Pratt of Smyth County and C.T. Thiemann of Louisa County, and alternates Stephanie Cornell of Prince William County and Byron Stonecypher of Chesapeake.

The Virginia delegates will help formulate AFBF policies for 2019 related to labor, animal agriculture and livestock transportation issues, land management and more.

“Issues addressed at the American Farm Bureau convention have the potential to affect Virginia’s farmers and their peers nationwide,” Pryor noted. “We rely on American Farm Bureau to represent our interests in Congress, and it’s important that we participate in their policy development process for the coming year. Additionally, the convention is a great opportunity for personal and professional development, and the experience of meeting with producers from throughout the nation is a unique one.”

Farmers taking part this year’s convention will have the opportunity to attend workshops to help them enhance their business operations and receive updates on national farm issues and commodity markets. Additionally, they will have the opportunity to support VFBF Young Farmers Program award winners. Winners of the VFBF Young Farmers of the Year Achievement Award, Discussion Meet and Excellence in Agriculture Award will compete during the convention.

The Virginia competitors are John and Lydia Shepherd of Nottoway County, who won the Achievement Award; Jesse Martin of Rockingham County, who won the Discussion Meet; and Amy Fannon of Lee County, who won the Excellence in Agriculture Award.

Media: Contact Pam Wiley, VFBF communications, at 804-290-1128.

Support Virginia Agriculture

Join Now

Related Articles

Get Recognized

If your publication or radio or television station is delivering stellar coverage of agriculture on an ongoing basis, this is the award competition to enter. Learn More