News & Features Home

Accomack County farmer re-elected to Farm Bureau board

Accomack County farmer re-elected to Farm Bureau board

Accomack County vegetable and grain producer David L. Hickman of Horntown was elected Nov. 29 to an eighth three-year term on the Virginia Farm Bureau Federation board of directors.

Elections of officers and directors were held at the VFBF 2018 Annual Convention in Hot Springs.

As a board member, Hickman will represent Farm Bureau producer members in Accomack, Isle of Wight and Northampton counties and the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk and Virginia Beach.

He chairs the VFBF Specialty Crops Advisory Committee and is a member of the organization’s Compensation Committee. He is a past president of the Accomack County Farm Bureau and former chairman of that organization’s Young Farmers Committee.

In addition to his Farm Bureau involvement, Hickman is a board member and past chairman of the Virginia Irish Potato Board, a member of the Accomack County Board of Equalization and a member and past director of the Virginia Potato and Vegetable Growers Association.

He is a co-owner and operator of Dublin Farms Inc., which produces corn, potatoes, snap beans, soybeans and wheat. He and his wife, Chessie, have three sons, two of whom are involved with the farm operation.

With 129,000 members in 88 county Farm Bureaus, VFBF is Virginia’s largest farmers’ advocacy group. Farm Bureau is a non-governmental, nonpartisan, voluntary organization committed to supporting Virginia’s agriculture industry. View more convention news as it becomes available at and follow us on social media via #drivingagforward and #VFBFconvention18.

Contact Greg Hicks, VFBF vice president of communications, at 804-290-1139.